The Mulberry Honor Society
Share |

The Mulberry Honor Society was created to honor individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to NAADA and to foster their continued involvement in the organization and with institutions of higher education associated with agricultural sciences and their related programs. NAADA Past Presidents, individual achievement award recipients and other honorees invited by the NAADA Executive Committee are eligible for induction into the society.

The Mulberry Honor Society is named from a long-standing NAADA tradition—the president’s gavel. Upon his retirement as president of NAADA in 1986, Dave Mugler, Associate Dean of Agriculture at Kansas State University made a gavel and presented it to the organization. The gavel is made of Mulberry and more specifically of a Mulberry root from a tree that stood on Dave’s family farm in Kansas. It was Dave’s wish that the gavel be passed from president to president and that it becomes a reminder of “NAADA’s roots” (root of the Mulberry tree and root of the organization certainly intended) from which the organization was given life.

The charter members of the Mulberry Honor Society are as follows:

Bill Alverson
Mark Fleming
Raymond Miller*

Paul Appel*
Bobby Gaffney
Brice Nelson

Kim Arp
Helen Goetz*
Keith Oakley

Chuck Banks
Nick Hamon
David Pfendler*

Keith Barber
Marcy Heim
Melissa Pianalto

Timothy Beard
Kevin Heusman
Kirby Player

Trina Beebe
Waymon Hickman
Mollie Pulver

Paula Beecher
Charles Hinton
Mike Richey

Bob Bickford*
Sennah Honea
Arlette Rodrigue

Clancy Biegler*
Fred Hoppin*
William Sheets

Jody Bissett
Milford Jenkins
Nancy & Jim Smith

Dale Bone*
William Jenkins*
John Sterling

Lois Britt*
James Johnson
Jillian Stevenson

Rich Bundy
Janet Johnson
Ginger & Joe Taylor

Mary Buschette
Renee Keese
Tina Veal
Donald Villwock

Chris Cammarene-Wessel
Bob LaPrad*
Joel Wahlberg

Bartley Cardon*
William Latham
Shirley Wahlberg

Bruce Christmas
Donya Lester
Bonnie Lou Wampler

Richard Church
Chuck Lindley*
Richard Ward*

Patty Clark
Nelson Loftus
Lynn Wells

James Clark
Jane Longley-Cook*
Darcy Wells

Scott Cooksey
Jim Mahan
Maurice Williamson

Rick Daluge
Lynette Marshall
Paul Willis

Sarah & Lawrence Davenport
Bill McCloskey
Russ Wilson

Scott Emerson
Judy Mellor*
Larry Wooten

Juli Fields
Jacqueline Honeck
Robin Haefs

Beth Crocker
Kathryn Reed
Patricia Brundige

Wayne Smith
Darrin Hubbard
E. Allen James

Carly Schoepflin


*indicates honoree inducted into the Mulberry Honor society posthumously