NAADA Connections - February 2018
Share |
NAADA eNewsletter
February 2018

NAADA Connections

2018 Conference Keynote: Bill J. Whitacre

In 2009 Mr. Whitacre was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of the J. R. Simplot Company, one of the largest privately held agribusiness firms in the nation. He joined the Company in March 2000 as President, Turf & Horticulture Group and became President of the AgriBusiness Group in 2002.

Mr. Whitacre has over 30 years’ experience in the agriculture industry. Prior to joining Simplot he was President & CEO of Research Seeds, Inc., a Land O’Lakes subsidiary.

Mr. Whitacre currently serves as a board member of St. Luke’s Health System and is a former board member of The Fertilizer Institute, International Plant Nutrition Institute, Nutrients for Life Foundation, and the Farm Foundation. He is also a past president of the American Seed Trade Association, Western Seed Association and North American Seed Institute.

Jane Longley-Cook Fellowship Awards

Scholarships Available!

NAADA will again be honoring Jane Longley-Cook’s legacy by investing in our volunteer leaders and supporting overall volunteer participation. The 2018 fellowship awards will cover conference expenses at the conference including registration and lodging for volunteers from member institutions. For more information, see our application.

The deadline for nominations is April 6, 2018.

Publications and Projects Competition – Submit Today!

The 2018 NAADA Publication and Projects Award Competition is now accepting submissions. This is your opportunity to demonstrate your college’s greatest achievements over the last year. Make sure to recognize the excellent work your staff has accomplished by nominating their publication or project for one of NAADA’s prestigious awards. All material must be received by Friday, March 2, 2018, 5:00 p.m. CT, to be eligible for the competition. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at the NAADA Annual Conference in Boise, ID June 11-15, 2018.
Publications & Projects will again be recognized in the following categories. A full explanation is available HERE. This link will be updated once we finalize the deadline date.

  • Multimedia & Promotional Materials
  • Print Media
  • Campaign/Series
  • Event/Programs
  • Society Programming

More information and nomination forms are available HERE. As with previous years, both electronic and hardcopy submissions are accepted. Complete submission label and address information can be found through the link above.

Don’t miss this opportunity to have your college recognized as one of the best agricultural institutions in the country!

Deadline: March 2, 2018

If you have any questions or need more information, please feel free to contact Publication and Project Competition Chair, Paula Beecher at or 864-656-6340.

Individual Award Nominations – Deadline Approaching

In each of our NAADA institutions, there are countless individuals who work hard to advance our missions, and to make our programs possible. And each year, there are a few special individuals who have gone above and beyond to make exceptional contributions to the university, to the stakeholders we serve, and to the NAADA community. Award winners will be recognized at the 2018 NAADA Annual Conference in Boise, Idaho.

Please make it a priority to nominate one or more individuals from your institution. If you nominated someone last year who was not selected and you want to re-nominate them, please submit a new form. Please click here for more information on the Individual Awards program. A listing of previous winners is available on the NAADA website. Nominations are being accepted for the following awards:

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2018. Contact Amanda Martin with questions or comments at We look forward to celebrating your staff members, alumni, friends and donors at the NAADA Annual Conference in Columbus!

NAADA Awards Committee

NAADA Committee Chair and Officer Nominations

The NAADA Executive and Nominating Committees needs your input on potential candidates for committee chairs and officer positions with terms beginning at the conclusion of the Annual Conference in 2018. Please take a 5 minute survey by following this link.

Board officer positions are two-year terms. The officer positions of President and Vice President are up for election this year.

Please share names of those you consider potential great leaders for NAADA. Include a brief description as to why you would have the nominee(s) considered.

Self-nominations are welcomed. Track Representative nominations will be handled separately.

I look forward to your nominations.

Keith Barber
Chair, 2018 Nominating Committee

Sponsor the 2018 NAADA Conference

The 2018 sponsorship opportunities have been released. Make plans now for your institution to be represented among the list of sponsoring organizations for the event. Over the past few years this sponsorship program has evolved to increase the value to your organization for supporting this event. See below for full details on the commitment level and return on investment:

In 2017, 12 of our institutional members supported the organization with a sponsorship. Will you join that growing list in 2018?

Become a Sponsor


Let’s Get Social!

Did you know NAADA uses both Twitter and Facebook? Check out our pages to get the latest scoop. facebooktwitter

Welcome New Members

Carolyn Larson, University of Minnesota

Susan Thurston-Hamerski, University of Minnesota

Thomas Van Norman, University of Minnesota

Kara Zweig, University of Minnesota

NAADA Track Listservs:

Alumni -
Communications -
Development -
Student Professionals -
Volunteers -

Back to Top


Sign In
Login with LinkedIn


NAADA Headquarters
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252
St. Paul, MN 55114
Phone: (651) 203-7246

Membership Questions:
Executive Director:
Web Questions:
Privacy PolicySite Map

© 2019 NAADA. All Rights Reserved.
This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.